Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Maple-Mustard Glaze

Brussels sprouts? Brussels sprouts! I don’t think I hated them as a kid, but I also can never recall my dad (the family chef) making them. So I guess I was indifferent at the time. Now, I obviously think they’re amazing. However, I did hate fresh tomatoes as a kid. I loved pasta sauce and ketchup (like all tykes) but if there were fresh tomatoes in a salad or something I would refuse to eat them. My parents even made a rule that I had to have one tomato a year, but it’s not like there was a set date or anything, and so it seemed like whenever there was fresh tomato in something they were serving it was suddenly time for my annual tomato! Now, it’s unimaginable to me that I hated any food that much–I eat cherry tomatoes like candy, and during the summer bruschetta is as indispensable to me as brussels sprouts are in the winter. Especially when you can get them at your local farmer’s market still on the branch, and then use the branch as a silly weapon.

 

pics by lovely Rachel!

Adapted from the wonderful Mollie Katzen, matriarch of Moosewood and kitchen inspiration

  • 1 lb brussels sprouts
  • 2T olive oil
  • 1/2 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (only the real stuff, otherwise substitute honey)
  • 2 tsp sesame oil (or olive oil in a pinch)
  • 2 tsp soy sauce

Preheat the oven to 425 F. Cut the hard bases off the brussels sprouts and cut in half lengthwise, removing any especially tough outer leaves. Put sprouts on baking sheet, drizzle with the 2T olive oil, and toss with your hands until well coated. Roast for 30-45 minutes, until browned with a bit of black on the edges. Shake the pan around a couple times throughout the cooking to make sure they cook evenly.

While sprouts are roasting, make the glaze! Whisk all other ingredients in a small bowl until even.

When sprouts are done, put them in a bowl while still hot and toss with the glaze until well coated.

Enjoy!!

