Glorious Rice Bowl

**Sorry for the silence on this blog for so long–your Ripe Avocados team has been traveling the world! Check here for sporadic updates on D’s travels, and now that I’m back in good ol’ Montreal I’ll do my best to get this blog back on track!**

 

 

I’m not fully vegan, but I love me a good vegan restaurant. There’s something about places where vegetables are welcomed and made to shine instead of being an afterthought, the kind of establishments that welcome any kind of dietary difficulty, that makes you feel more healthy and alive than you would ever thought you would after a giant meal. This dish gives me the same kind of effervescent feeling–it’s food that’s not rich but also not bland, just flavor and freshness for days. Big ups to my amazing friend Megan for showing me this dish and inspiring me to keep my blog updated in general!

Adapted from Canadian Living (they call it the Glory Bowl but that just makes me snicker)

Bowl ingredients

  • 2 cups uncooked brown rice
  • 2 beets
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 cups spinach (baby spinach preferable)
  • 2 cups cubed tofu
  • 2T oil
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • Any other vegetables you want to add that would be good raw–sprouts are nice!

Dressing ingredients

  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 T tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/3 cup olive oil

 

 

Put your rice on to cook according to the package. Fry your tofu in the oil until browned. Toast your almonds until lightly browned. And that’s all the cooking you have to do! Is this a great summer recipe or what?

 

Grate your carrots and beets. A food processor with a  grating attachment comes in really handy for this. And the colors will be beautiful! Roughly chop your spinach.

For your dressing, blend all ingredients except the olive oil together in a food processor or blender, and with the motor still running, pour the oil in a slow stream to emulsify. Now to assemble:

 

 

Layer the bowl like so: brown rice, spinach, carrots, beets, sprouts/whatever, tofu, almonds, and finally drizzle with lots of delicious dressing. And enjoy!

 

