Double Chocolate Oatmeal Vegan Cookies

IMG_20141204_235549

Two of my favorite local cafes in my new city have a variation of this cookie for sale (though theirs is also gluten free) and I can’t help myself from ordering it almost every time I visit either one of them. One time they were sold out and I felt really dramatically broken-hearted, like some mashup of a teary heroine walking down the street in a black-and-white movie and George Michael as Charlie Brown. But since I’m made of stronger stuff than those nerds, I went ahead and figured out how to make my own. Since then I’ve used these cookies to weasel my way into a clothing swap where I didn’t bring any clothes, fuel my students at a women’s bike repair course into master wrenchers, and this weekend they’ll get an boss-level test at their first holiday party. I think we’ll be just fine.

party time, excellent

Adapted from Trans-planted.com, who adapted it from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cup white sugar (sometimes white cane sugar isn’t considered vegan–organic cane, beet sugar, or raw varieties should be fine)
  • 2/3 cup nondairy milk (I’ve used both soy and almond)
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips (check the label for milk ingredients, so far I’ve been using Ghiradelli and President’s Choice semisweet, again sometimes added sugar in these products is an issue for some vegans)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and prep your baking sheet.
  2. Mix oats, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in one bowl.dry like a desert
  3. Mix sugar, milk substitute, oil, and vanilla in another bowl.
  4. Combine the two, stir until mostly mixed together, add chocolate chips and almonds, and stir until just combined.here comes delicious
  5. Form cookies to be roughly 2T of dough each, you can either leave them as lumps or flatten with your fingers for a firmer texture. They don’t spread that much, I fit four rows of three on my baking sheet and get 24-30 cookies out of each batch depending on how large I make them.bikes, couch, sunlight, and cookies = self-actualization
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes until cookies are firm and slightly risen. Cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to cooling rack to cool further. I’ve stored them in a tupperware for at least a week, but they probably won’t last that long!

ready to munch

